Book Now
Contact Us

Subscribe by Email

Your email:

Follow Me

Browse by Tag

Ouray Colorado Vacation Guide and Trip Planning Information for SW Colorado

Current Articles | RSS Feed RSS Feed

Ouray Oktoberfest: A Fall Celebration

  
  
  

Food Fun and Music with the Box Canyon Lodge at Oktoberfest in Ouray, Colorado this Fall

october colorsOctober in the San Juans is a spectacular time of year. As the last of the aspen leaves fall, the folk in town begin to prepare for winter and the first snows. To celebrate another succesful season, and usher in the restful winter months, Oktoberfest, with music, dancing, fabulous food and beverages, is a long tradition bringing together old friends, and creating new ones every year.

This year is going to be even more exciting with a fireworks display at the end of the evening!

ouray fireworks 2The city of Ouray still has some left over fireworks from the Fourth of July, which, as you may remember, had been cancelled due to the dry weather. Well, thankfully, we have had some much needed moisture, and now we get to enjoy another spectacular light show. Nothing really compares to fireworks in Ouray. Personally, I am hoping for at least a bit of snow on the peaks, because the reflection on snowy mountain peaks, followed by the booming echo as each firework explodes as absolutely amazing!

austrian connectionBack by popular demand, Austrian Connection, from Westminster Colorado, headlines and their classic German folk songs entertain party goers. Wear your lederhosen or dirndl to participate in a costume contest, as you polka the night away and enjoy a wide variety of traditional German dishes, while sampling microbrews from one of our local breweries.

oktoberfest jeepDoor prizes from many shops and restaurants in the area are given away throughout the evening, with the drawing for a brand new Jeep Wrangler as the grand finale of the celebration. Every year for the past 48 years, the Ouray Chamber and Resort Association raffles off a brand new jeep, selling tickets all season long, then presenting the keys to the winner on the eve of Oktoberfest. This year, you can see the orange Jeep Wrangler parked in different places on Main Street. Raffle tickets are only $5.00 for one, three for $10.00, or seven for $20.00. The proceeds of the raffle are used toward the beautification and maintenance of the City of Ouray, as well as the purchase of next years jeep.

outlaw restaurant ourayLocal shops will be participating in a sidewalk sale during the day. What better time to investigate all of the treasures these shops have to offer, and pick up some early Christmas presents for those hard to shop for people on your list.

Combine your trip to enjoy the Oktoberfest with other activities that let you explore the San Juan Mountains in October! Drive the Million Dollar Highway for an easy beautiful scenic drive through a photographers paradise of fall foliage. Or, hike one of the many trails accessible in town for a more close up experience. Cascade waterfall is a spectacular sight surrounded by a rainbow of leaves, and the Box Canyon Waterfall is a sight to behold.

box canyon tubs

After a day spent experiencing the variety of colors of fall in Southwest Colorado, and exploring the shops and sidewalk sales on Main Street in Ouray, celebrate Oktoberfest in the Switzerland of America. At the end of a day full of adventure, beauty, good food, music and spirits, its time to relax with a long soak in the natural mineral hot springs at the Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs to complete the best Oktoberfest celebration around!

 

 

contact-us-todaybook-your-stay-let-us-h

Comments

Will you be hosting Octoberfest this year? 2013? I did not see the event on the Ouray town calendar. Can you provide me with the dates? Thank you.
Posted @ Sunday, June 02, 2013 12:03 PM by Alexis
Hello, 
I am interested in your Octoberfest. It looks like the hotel rooms may be sold out. Do we need to purchase tickets for the event? Are there campsites within biking distance of the venue? 
Thanks in advance, 
Amber
Posted @ Thursday, September 05, 2013 5:36 PM by Amber
Hi, I am very much excited about your Food Fun and Music with the Box Canyon Lodge at Oktoberfest.Very much tongue licking program. 
Skateboard TIps 
Posted @ Tuesday, July 22, 2014 6:31 AM by Farjana
<p>Air Jordan Shoes, http://www.nike-jordanshoes.com/
 
Polo Outlet Online, http://www.polo-tshirts.com/
 
Headphones By Dre, http://www.beatsbydreoutlet.net/
 
Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.michaelusakors.com/
 
North Face Outlet, http://www.northsclearance.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Outlet, http://www.ralph-laurensale.com/
 
Gucci Shoes UK, http://www.gucci-shoesuk2014.com/
 
Michael Kors Outlet Online, http://www.michael-korsstates.com/
 
Polo Outlet Online, http://www.polooutlet-store.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Outlet Online, http://www.ralph-laurenhome.com/
 
Marc Jacobs Bags Outlet, http://www.marcjacobsonsale.com/
 
MCM Widely, http://www.mcmworldwides.com/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/
 
Longchamp Pairs Sale, http://www.salongchamppairs.com/
 
Canada Goose Outlet Online, http://www.canada-gooser.com/
 
Burberry Bags Outlet, http://www.burberrybags2014.com/
 
Michael Kors USA, http://www.michaelkors.so/
 
Hermes Outlet Online, http://www.hermes-outletonline.com/
 
Oakley Sunglaases Outlet, http://www.oakley-sunglassfactory.com/
 
North Face Jackets Outlet, http://www.north-faceoutlet.us.com/
 
Moncler Jackets Outlet, http://www.moncler-clearance.com/
 
Woolrich Jackets Outlet, http://www.woolrich-clearance.com/
 
Barbour Jackets Outlet, http://www.barbour-jacketsoutlet.com/
 
Moncler Mens Jackets, http://www.moncler-jacketsoutletonline.com/
 
Monster Heapphones Outlet, http://www.monsterbeatsbydres.net/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet Online, http://www.louis-vuittonblackfriday.com/
 
Gucci Shoes Factory, http://www.lv-guccishoesfactory.com/
 
Cheap Clothes Online, http://www.cheapdiscountoutlet.com/
 
Michael Kors Factory, http://www.michael-korsfactoryonline.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.coachsfactoryoutlet.com/
 
Coach Outlet, http://www.coach-blackfriday2014.com/
 
Coach Store Outlet, http://www.coach-storeoutletonline.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet, http://www.coach-factorysoutletonline.com
 
shop.coachfactory.com, http://www.coachccoachoutlet.com/
 
Coach Factory Store, http://www.coach-factories.net/
 
Coach Purses Outlet, http://www.coach-pursesoutletonline.com/
 
Coach Outlet Online USA, http://www.coach-outletsusa.com/
 
Coach Outlet USA, http://www.zxcoachoutlet.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.mischristmas.com/
 
Black Friday, http://www.misblackfriday.com/
 
Coach Purses Store Online, http://www.newoutletonlinemall.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Polo, http://www.ralphlaurenepolo.com/
 
Coach Black Friday 2014, http://www.bestcustomsonline.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Black Friday
 
Coach Outlet Online 
Handbags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/louis-vuitton-bags-c-1.html
 
Hermes Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/hermes-bags-c-2.html
 
Prada Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/prada-bags-c-3.html
 
Chanel Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/chanel-bags-c-4.html
 
Gucci Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/gucci-bags-c-5.html
 
Burberry Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/burberry-bags-c-6.html
 
Celine Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/celine-bags-c-7.html
 
Balenciaga Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/balenciaga-bags-c-8.html
 
Christian Dior Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/christian-dior-bags-c-9.html
 
Chloe Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/chloe-bags-c-10.html
 
Bvlgari Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bvlgari-bags-c-11.html
 
Bally Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bally-bags-c-12.html
 
coach Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/coach-bags-c-13.html
 
Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/michael-kors-bags-c-14.html
 
MCM Backpack Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/mcm-bags-c-15.html
 
Fendi Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/fendi-bags-c-16.html
 
mulberry Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/mulberry-bags-c-17.html
 
Marc Jacobs Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/marc-jacobs-bags-c-18.html
 
Miu Miu Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/miu-miu-bags-c-19.html
 
Ysl Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/ysl-bags-c-20.html
 
Tory Burch Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/tory-burch-bags-c-21.html
 
Givenchy Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/givenchy-bags-c-22.html
 
Ferragamo Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/ferragamo-bags-c-23.html
 
Lancel Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/lancel-bags-c-24.html
 
Loewe Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/loewe-bags-c-25.html
 
Tods Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/tods-bags-c-26.html
 
Paul Smith Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/paul-smith-bags-c-27.html
 
D&G Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/dg-bags-c-28.html
 
Alexander Wang Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/alexander-wang-bags-c-29.html
 
Bottega Veneta Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bottega-veneta-bags-c-30.html
Posted @ Wednesday, August 27, 2014 4:24 AM by polo
Post Comment
Name
 *
Email
 *
Website (optional)
Comment
 *

Allowed tags: <a> link, <b> bold, <i> italics

mountain flowers