Book Now
Contact Us

Subscribe by Email

Your email:

Follow Me

Browse by Tag

Ouray Colorado Vacation Guide and Trip Planning Information for SW Colorado

Current Articles | RSS Feed RSS Feed

True Grit Vacation Package in Ouray

  
  
  

ridgway and ouray were home to original true grit movieRelive the Original “True Grit” Movie in Ouray, Colo. 

--Box Canyon Lodge offers “True Grit” package to retrace ‘The Duke’s’ footsteps--

The DVD release of the remake of the western “True Grit” is just around the corner. In honor of the original John Wayne version, which was filmed in and around Ouray (a.k.a. “Switzerland of America”), Box Canyon Lodge invites visitors to book the True Grit Package and channel their inner “Duke.” The package spotlights movie scenes, as well as local hot spots popularized by John Wayne.

The True Grit package includes: two nights lodging for two at Box Canyon Lodge and Hot Springs in Ouray; dinner at Outlaw Restaurant; and your choice of a 4x4 Jeep Wrangler rental or a morning guided Jeep tour. A detailed map of set locations, complete with specific GPS coordinates, pictures, routes and a suggested itinerary are also included. The package is available from late-May through October 1 and costs $565 for two people, excluding taxes and gratuities. (bcm@boxcanyonouray.com or 800-327-5080).

 

Package Details

Box Canyon Lodge: The well-appointed rooms at Box Canyon Lodge and Hot Springs are equipped with DVD players for watching the motel’s copy of “True Grit.” Also, be sure to check out the natural hot springs tubs terraced on the mountainside.

Outlaw Restaurant: Dinner for two is included at the Outlaw Restaurant, where John Wayne liked to eat during filming. He became particularly friendly with the bartender named Addie, to whom he gave his hat. It is proudly displayed still today.

Jeep Tour: Provided by outfitter Switzerland of America, visitors may choose a guided or self-guided Jeep tour. GPS coordinates and directions to movie locations on Last Dollar Road and Owl Creek Pass are provided.

While in the area, visitors may want to consider stopping by True Grit Cafe in neighboring Ridgway.  Sitting in “The Grit,” you can look out over the town park and see where the hanging scene was filmed. Right behind the park is the old Train Depot depicted in the movie. If you tilt your head just right and look at the mountains you can see the famous Chimney Peak that is shown prominently in the big shoot out scene in the movie. 

About Box Canyon Lodge (www.boxcanyonouray.com)

The Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs is located in beautiful Ouray, Colo., nicknamed “Switzerland of America.” Box Canyon Lodge, a hot springs motel boasting four, all natural hot springs tubs, offers a peaceful location, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated rooms, meticulously-maintained grounds and warm, personal service.  

Comments

<p>Air Jordan Shoes, http://www.nike-jordanshoes.com/
 
Polo Outlet Online, http://www.polo-tshirts.com/
 
Headphones By Dre, http://www.beatsbydreoutlet.net/
 
Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.michaelusakors.com/
 
North Face Outlet, http://www.northsclearance.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Outlet, http://www.ralph-laurensale.com/
 
Gucci Shoes UK, http://www.gucci-shoesuk2014.com/
 
Michael Kors Outlet Online, http://www.michael-korsstates.com/
 
Polo Outlet Online, http://www.polooutlet-store.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Outlet Online, http://www.ralph-laurenhome.com/
 
Marc Jacobs Bags Outlet, http://www.marcjacobsonsale.com/
 
MCM Widely, http://www.mcmworldwides.com/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/
 
Longchamp Pairs Sale, http://www.salongchamppairs.com/
 
Canada Goose Outlet Online, http://www.canada-gooser.com/
 
Burberry Bags Outlet, http://www.burberrybags2014.com/
 
Michael Kors USA, http://www.michaelkors.so/
 
Hermes Outlet Online, http://www.hermes-outletonline.com/
 
Oakley Sunglaases Outlet, http://www.oakley-sunglassfactory.com/
 
North Face Jackets Outlet, http://www.north-faceoutlet.us.com/
 
Moncler Jackets Outlet, http://www.moncler-clearance.com/
 
Woolrich Jackets Outlet, http://www.woolrich-clearance.com/
 
Barbour Jackets Outlet, http://www.barbour-jacketsoutlet.com/
 
Moncler Mens Jackets, http://www.moncler-jacketsoutletonline.com/
 
Monster Heapphones Outlet, http://www.monsterbeatsbydres.net/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet Online, http://www.louis-vuittonblackfriday.com/
 
Gucci Shoes Factory, http://www.lv-guccishoesfactory.com/
 
Cheap Clothes Online, http://www.cheapdiscountoutlet.com/
 
Michael Kors Factory, http://www.michael-korsfactoryonline.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.coachsfactoryoutlet.com/
 
Coach Outlet, http://www.coach-blackfriday2014.com/
 
Coach Store Outlet, http://www.coach-storeoutletonline.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet, http://www.coach-factorysoutletonline.com
 
shop.coachfactory.com, http://www.coachccoachoutlet.com/
 
Coach Factory Store, http://www.coach-factories.net/
 
Coach Purses Outlet, http://www.coach-pursesoutletonline.com/
 
Coach Outlet Online USA, http://www.coach-outletsusa.com/
 
Coach Outlet USA, http://www.zxcoachoutlet.com/
 
Coach Factory Outlet Online, http://www.mischristmas.com/
 
Black Friday, http://www.misblackfriday.com/
 
Coach Purses Store Online, http://www.newoutletonlinemall.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Polo, http://www.ralphlaurenepolo.com/
 
Coach Black Friday 2014, http://www.bestcustomsonline.com/
 
Ralph Lauren Black Friday
 
Coach Outlet Online 
Handbags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/
 
Louis Vuitton Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/louis-vuitton-bags-c-1.html
 
Hermes Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/hermes-bags-c-2.html
 
Prada Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/prada-bags-c-3.html
 
Chanel Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/chanel-bags-c-4.html
 
Gucci Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/gucci-bags-c-5.html
 
Burberry Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/burberry-bags-c-6.html
 
Celine Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/celine-bags-c-7.html
 
Balenciaga Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/balenciaga-bags-c-8.html
 
Christian Dior Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/christian-dior-bags-c-9.html
 
Chloe Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/chloe-bags-c-10.html
 
Bvlgari Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bvlgari-bags-c-11.html
 
Bally Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bally-bags-c-12.html
 
coach Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/coach-bags-c-13.html
 
Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/michael-kors-bags-c-14.html
 
MCM Backpack Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/mcm-bags-c-15.html
 
Fendi Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/fendi-bags-c-16.html
 
mulberry Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/mulberry-bags-c-17.html
 
Marc Jacobs Outlet Online, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/marc-jacobs-bags-c-18.html
 
Miu Miu Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/miu-miu-bags-c-19.html
 
Ysl Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/ysl-bags-c-20.html
 
Tory Burch Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/tory-burch-bags-c-21.html
 
Givenchy Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/givenchy-bags-c-22.html
 
Ferragamo Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/ferragamo-bags-c-23.html
 
Lancel Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/lancel-bags-c-24.html
 
Loewe Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/loewe-bags-c-25.html
 
Tods Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/tods-bags-c-26.html
 
Paul Smith Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/paul-smith-bags-c-27.html
 
D&G Bags Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/dg-bags-c-28.html
 
Alexander Wang Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/alexander-wang-bags-c-29.html
 
Bottega Veneta Outlet, http://www.shopbestgoods.com/bottega-veneta-bags-c-30.html
Posted @ Wednesday, August 27, 2014 6:42 AM by polo
Post Comment
Name
 *
Email
 *
Website (optional)
Comment
 *

Allowed tags: <a> link, <b> bold, <i> italics

mountain flowers